Anna Karenina

Plot:

Anna Karenina is the story of upper class women Anna, who is married to Alexei Karenin.  Anna also has a son.

Anna meets a man named Vronsky, a young, attractive rich man who is thought to marry a girl named Kitty.  However, when the two first meet eyes, they cannot hide their attraction for each other.

Anna and Vronsky get peoples attention when the two dance at a party and everyone starts talking.  Anna tries to avoid Vronsky after this event and denies her attraction to him.  However, when Vronsky announces he might take a promotion to a different city, Anna tells him to stay.

The two then begin to start a relationship together.  Anna can’t let anyone find out about her affair because it would be bad for her reputation.  However, rumors begin to start going around and Anna’s affair changes her life forever.

My Thoughts:

I was surprised how much I enjoyed this movie.  I found it very interesting, entertaining and visually it was stunning.

This is an adaptation of the novel by the same name.  I have never read the book, but after seeing this movie it is on my list of books I want to read.  Usually after I see a movie based on a book, I usually don’t end up wanting to read the book.  I know Anna Karenina is a good movie because I want to read the book even after seeing the movie.

Mos of this movie takes place in a theater, which took a little getting used to.  I wasn’t sure what I thought about it at the start of the film, but by the end, I thought it was such a creative idea.  The way the scenes were switched in this theater was very cool to watch!  The costumes were also amazing!  All of the dresses, suits, hat and even fur coats were so amazing crafted and really helped me feel like I was in the time period that Anna Karenina took place in.

The acting was also really great in this movie!  Kiera Knightly, who plays Anna, was amazing!  I have never really been a fan of Knightly, but in this movie I thought she was fantastic.  She really got herself into character and you really felt all the pain she showed.  Other good performances were Jude Law as Alexei Karenin and Aaron Taylor-Johnson as Vronsky.

With Oscar nominations announced in 5 days I’m hoping to see Anna Karenina get some of the bigger nominations.  I would love to see it get a Best Picture nomination as well as an Adapted screenplay nomination.  The Best Actress category is pretty packed this year, but I am really hoping to see Kiera Knightly get a nomination.  This is one of my favorite movies I saw this year, so I hope it gets more nominations then just the art direction categories, because this film deserves them!

All in all I give Anna Karenina 4 out of 4 stars!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

