Shut Up and Sing

Plot:

The Dixie Chicks were the number female recording artists of all time.  They were topping the country music charts and even the pop charts.  Everything was going great for them.  However, one night changed everything for them.

12 words said by lead singer Natalie Maines “We are ashamed the president of the United States is from Texas” turned everything for the Dixie Chicks upside down.

From people not buying there music anymore, to death threats, the Dixie Chicks went through a rough couple of years.  Throughout this documentary we watch the Dixie Chicks fight to stay strong as they are writing their new album Taking the Long Way.

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this documentary.  The Dixie Chicks are my favorite band so I felt like I had to see this film even though I thought it was going to be boring.  But it turned out I watched this film more than once, which I only do when a movie is good.

This movie really does a good job showing what the Dixie Chicks went through, and all the things people thought about them.  It did a good job showing you how the Dixie Chicks really are as people.

The documentary followed the Dixie Chicks and showeed their reactions to everything happening to them.  It showed them having meetings about what to do.  It showed all the behind the scenes stuff before and after shows.  It had clips of there shows.  Also it had clips of people talking about how much the disliked the Dixie Chicks.

One of the most interesting parts for me was how they showed the Dixie Chicks making the Grammy Award winning album Taking the Long Way.  I liked seeing them record and create their songs.

 

All in all I give Shut Up and Sing 4 out of 4 stars!

This entry was posted in Drama. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment